Trocaire Honors 2015-2016 Student Achievers

Trocaire honored its highest achievers at its recent Spring 2016 student awards ceremony, held on April 29 at Lucarelli’s Banquet Center.

Solomon Nelson

After enjoying opening remarks by some of the college’s administrative officials, including President Bassam Deeb, as well
as a family-style dinner and a faculty address by English professor and 2015 Patricia A. Lavender Distinguished Educator Award winner Solomon Nelson, students were recognized for their excellence in several areas.

Congratulations to all our awardees—you make Trocaire a better place, and we are grateful you are part of our family here!

Academic Program Awards

Students are selected for these awards through nominations by faculty and administration of the various academic programs. Each recipient is chosen for their achievement in one of the following areas:

  • Academic Excellence (outstanding scholastic achievement)
  • Leadership (influences other students to participate and achieve)
  • Clinical Excellence (demonstrates exceptional skills at clinical sites)
  • Dedication (devotion to the profession)
  • Service (outstanding assistance to college or community above and beyond what is expected)

The 2016 winners were as follows:

Computer Network Administration: Andrea Myers (Dedication)

Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Arwa Al-Naji (Academic Excellence)

Echocardiography: Joshua Domaracki (Academic Excellence)

Anna Herrmann

General Studies: Anna Herrmann (Academic Excellence)

Healthcare Informatics: Ramoncito Santos (Academic Excellence)

Health Information Technology: La-Tasha Thompson (Leadership)

Hospitality Management: Elizabeth Salamone (Dedication)

Human Resource Management: Melissa Ann LaPress (Leadership)

Massage Therapy: Elizabeth Goldwater (Academic Excellence)

Medical Assisting: Leann Beason (Clinical Excellence)

Practical Nursing: Amanda Morey (Leadership); Jasmaine West (Academic Excellence)

Registered Nursing: Kimberly Clark (Clinical Excellence); Kelly Donnelly (Dedication); Amy Serba (Dedication); Ricardo Tucker (Clinical Excellence)

Nursing, BS: Brittany Shriver (Academic Excellence)

Radiologic Technology: Kristen Benson (Clinical Excellence); Cassandra Povirk (Dedication); Kaitlyn Ratka (Academic Excellence)

Surgical Technology: Mackenzie Ciciera (Leadership); Rachel Lindstedt (Academic Excellence); Shawntya Stepney (Clinical Excellence)

Arwa Al-Naji, Joshua Domaracki and Andrea Myers

Phi Theta Kappa

Also honored were the 2015-2016 inductees to the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. To be inducted, students must have successful completed at least one semester in their intended major; earned a semester GPA of 3.5 or higher; and maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.4 or higher.

The inductees were:

Ashley Broughton (Radiologic Technology)

Rachel Bruso (Human Resource Management)

Megan Cannon (Nursing)

Elizabeth Carraba (Nursing)

Kyisha Carter (Nursing)

Joanna Cross (Nursing)

Chaleese Devonshire (Nursing)

Christina D’Orazio (Nursing)

Nicole Fallon (Radiologic Technology)

Julia Foy (Nursing)

Lexie Fuqua (Nursing)

Amy Galbraith (Radiologic Technology)

Elizabeth Goldwater (Massage Therapy)

Kelly Hoffman (Surgical Technology)

Kristen Kazmierczak (Nursing)

Kellee Kibler (Nursing)

Angelica Kwiatkowski (Radiologic Technology)

Ashley Mundorff (Radiologic Technology)

Katharine O’Neill (Nursing)

Mary Kathryn Peacock (Nursing)

Dominique Pease (Nursing)

Holly Peters (Nursing)

Lindsay Spaulding (Nursing)

Chelsea Strong (Radiologic Technology)

Taylor Swan (Surgical Technology)

Who’s Who Among Students In American Universities & Colleges 2016

This distinction recognizes full-time, upcoming graduates with a GPA of 3.6, who have demonstrated leadership in academic, civic and extracurricular activities.

The inductees were:

Arwa Al-Naji (Diagnostic Medical Imaging)

Jamie Brayley (Healthcare Informatics)

Rachel Bruso (Human Resource Management)

Julie Jarka (Medical Assisting)

Chelsea Kelly (Healthcare Informatics)

Jerry Manuel (Medical Assisting)

Christie Oak (Nursing)

Justin Rosie (Nursing)

Cynthia Runkel (Healthcare Informatics)

Lindsey Wiza (Echocardiography)

Specialty Awards

These honors come from a variety of places, such as industry associations and Trocaire departments and traditions.

The Association of Educators in Radiologic Technology of NYS Award: Kaitlyn Ratka (Radiologic Technology)

  • Given to the Radiologic Technology student with the highest GPA.

The New York Health Information Management Association Outstanding Academic Achievement Award: Nicholas Rudich (Health Information Technology)

  • Awarded based on the student’s superior scholarship, integrity, initiative, enthusiasm and demonstrated professional potential in the Health Information field. The official award will be presented at the annual conference in June.

The Trocaire Opportunity Program Award: Rosa Valentin (Nursing)

  • Given to a Trocaire Opportunity Program (TOP) student in good academic standing who contributes time and energy to both Trocaire College and TOP.

Spirit of Mercy, Mission Award: Holly Peters (Nursing)

  • Given to a student who exemplifies the spirit of Trocaire’s Catholic and Mercy mission in ways that promote dignity, extend mercy, especially to needy populations, and serve creatively in ways that meet real needs and build bridges of empathy between peoples and communities.

The Sister Mary Emilie Award: Michael Toczek (Hospitality Management)

  • Sister Mary Emilie empowered students to apply their talents for the enrichment of the entire College Community. This award is presented to students whose contributions of ideas, time, energy and spirit has made a real difference in Student Life.

Trocairian Award: Mackenzie Ciciera (Surgical Technology) and Linda Tran (Health Information Technology)

  • Given to students whose outstanding leadership and participation has helped make Trocaire’s “community of learning” a living reality
President Deeb and Linda Tran